Further NIAC Expansion!

The Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NIAC) is pleased to welcome three new member colleges, beginning with the 2017-18 basketball season. Providence University College (Otterburne, Manitoba), Red River College (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and Sisseton Wahpeton College (Agency Village, South Dakota) join the existing seven league members to form what will now be a ten team conference. “This is an exciting time for our conference” remarked Dan Hovestol, NIAC President. “This is our conference’s largest expansion since its inception in 1983 and I’m quite certain adding these colleges will only enhance the competitive level of play on the court. For our first year with ten collegiate programs, we will function as a single division with our top eight men’s and women’s teams qualifying for the conference tournament in February. Moving forward in 2018-19, however, we will break into two, five team divisions that will be geographically sensitive.” The NIAC post season tournament will be held February 15-17, 2018 on the Cankdeska Cikana Community College campus. Existing members of the NIAC are: Association Free Lutheran Bible School (Plymouth, Minnesota), Canadian Mennonite University (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Cankdeska Cikana Community College (Fort Totten, North Dakota), Leech Lake Tribal College (Cass Lake, Minnesota), Oak Hills Christian College (Bemidji, Minnesota), Trinity Bible College (Ellendale, North Dakota) and Turtle Mountain Community College (Belcourt, North Dakota).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: