Further NIAC Expansion!

The Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NIAC) is pleased to welcome three new member colleges, beginning with the 2017-18 basketball season. Providence University College (Otterburne, Manitoba), Red River College (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and Sisseton Wahpeton College (Agency Village, South Dakota) join the existing seven league members to form what will now be a ten team conference. “This is an exciting time for our conference” remarked Dan Hovestol, NIAC President. “This is our conference’s largest expansion since its inception in 1983 and I’m quite certain adding these colleges will only enhance the competitive level of play on the court. For our first year with ten collegiate programs, we will function as a single division with our top eight men’s and women’s teams qualifying for the conference tournament in February. Moving forward in 2018-19, however, we will break into two, five team divisions that will be geographically sensitive.” The NIAC post season tournament will be held February 15-17, 2018 on the Cankdeska Cikana Community College campus. Existing members of the NIAC are: Association Free Lutheran Bible School (Plymouth, Minnesota), Canadian Mennonite University (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Cankdeska Cikana Community College (Fort Totten, North Dakota), Leech Lake Tribal College (Cass Lake, Minnesota), Oak Hills Christian College (Bemidji, Minnesota), Trinity Bible College (Ellendale, North Dakota) and Turtle Mountain Community College (Belcourt, North Dakota).


Pair Of TMCC Women Honored

Two members of the NIAC champion Turtle Mountain Community College were recently honored by the United States Collegiate Athletic Association being named USCAA Division I All-American Honorable Mention:

  • Belen Gutierrez
  • Claudia Santiesteban

Full press release can be found here

ACCA All Americans Named

The Association of Christian College Athletics named their All-Americans today. Several NIAC players were honored.

ACCA Men – First Team

  • Aaron Arneson, Fosston (MN) – AFLBS
  • Aaron Stemen, LaMoure (ND) – Trinity Bible Collegestemen

ACCA Men – Second Team

  • Stephen Moan, Corcoran (MN) – AFLBS
  • Jamal Williams, Powder Springs (GA) – Trinity Bible College

ACCA Women – First Team

  • Jaylen Newman, Velva (ND) – Trinity Bible College
  • Bekah Peterson, Valley City (ND) – AFLBS

ACCA Women – Second Team

Full press release can be found here

2017 NIAC Awards Announced

Coach of the Year (Men) – Jordan Nowell (TBC)


Coach of the Year (Women) – Mike Gonzalez (TMCC)


Player of the Year (Men) – Aaron Stemen (TBC)


Player of the Year (Women) – Jaylen Newman (TBC)


All Conference – (Men)

Aaron Arneson (AFLBS)
Stephen Moan (AFLBS)
Jaden Harms (CMU)
Sam Kinsley (CMU)
Terry Herman (CCCC)
Kyle Langstaff (CCCC)
Jordan Collins (LLTC)
Tristan Keah-Tigh (LLTC)
Ronnie Jackson (OHCC)
Friscoe Erdahl (TBC)
Jamal Williams (TBC)
Kolten Keplin (TMCC)

Honorable Mention –

Caleb Holt (AFLBS)
Logan Strand (AFLBS)
Ridel Ebreo (CMU)
Jacob Penner (CMU)
Brian Jad (LLTC)
Duke Abalos (OHCC)
Jaden Shockley (TBC)
Stacey Davis (TMCC)
Christian St. Claire (TMCC)

All Conference – (Women)

Rachel Dryburgh (AFLBS)
Rebekah Peterson (AFLBS)
Sarah Townsend (CMU)
Cassie Wiebe (CMU)
Cherilyn Cloud (CCCC)
Tiffani Ellis (LLTC)
GiGi Reitmeier (OHCC)
Rebecca Olsson (TBC)
Shaylyn Steinhauser (TBC)
Belen Gutierez (TMCC)
Kwade Keplin (TMCC)
Claudia Santiestban (TMCC)

Honorable Mention –

Paige Blake (AFLBS)
Jessica Marx-Houndle (CMU)
Tonya Morris (LLTC)
Danica Staples (LLTC)
Rachel Church (TBC)
Alexis Rivas (TMCC)

NIAC Community Support Gift

imageOak Hills Christian College’s VP for Enrollment Management, Mike Rasch (left), and Athletic Director, Jeremy Anderson, present a check and sample of collected non perishable food items to Bemidji Community Food Shelf’s Executive Director, Mary Mitchell, on behalf of the Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NIAC). The NIAC held their annual post season basketball championships in Bemidji, MN on the Oak Hills campus from February 16-18, 2017. The donations are part of the NIAC’s community support initiative that gives back to the communities that host and welcome NIAC athletes and teams during tournament action.

NIAC Tournament Schedule/Brackets

2017 NIAC Tournament Schedule

Thursday, February 16, 2017

2:00 pm- Association Free Lutheran Bible School (80) vs. Cankdeska Cikana Community College (57) – Women (W1)

4:00 pm- Canadian Mennonite University (93) vs. Cankdeska Cikana Community College (100) – Men (M1)

6:00 pm- Canadian Mennonite University (71) vs. Leech Lake Tribal College (29) – Women (W2)

8:00 pm- Leech Lake Tribal College (116) vs. Oak Hills Christian College (103) – Men (M2)

Friday, February 17, 2017

2:00 pm – Turtle Mountain Community College (83) vs. Association Free Lutheran Bible School (57) – Women (W3)

4:00 pm – Trinity Bible College (101) vs. Cankdeska Cikana Community College (85) – Men (M3)

6:00 pm – Trinity Bible College (70) vs. Canadian Mennonite University (65) – Women (W4)

8:00 pm – Association Free Lutheran Bible School (84) vs. Leech Lake Tribal College (81) – Men (M4)

Saturday, February 18, 2017

1:00 pm – Turtle Mountain Community College (74) vs. Trinity Bible College (67) – WOMEN’S CHAMPIONSHIP

3:00 pm – Trinity Bible College (98) vs. Association Free Lutheran Bible School (72) – MEN’S CHAMPIONSHIP

NIAC Tournament Brackets: